Uninstall XP from dual boot with Vista machine

It’s a bit tricky than the recent post.

There are 3 methods also that I’ve discovered so far

  1. Using VistaBootPro (1.6MB)
  2. Using EasyBCD ver 1.7 (859kb)
  3. Using Vista DVD

Steps to take using VistaBootPro ( by ScorpioSoft )

1- you have to make another entry into the menu with Vista being your legacy OS to boot from
2- restart the system, go to XP and copy the ‘boot’ map from your XP partition over to the Vista partition.
3- also copy all the boot files from the XP partition to the Vista Partition.
4- after that you have to set the Vista partition to ‘Active’ using ‘Computer Management’.
5- restart the pc and remove the XP partition from your HD.
6- now start your pc and if everything works ok you boot Vista from the Vista partition
Update: I tried to move the Vista partition to the beginning of my HD but that didn’t worked So for know I went back to XP (had a Ghost image ). Maybe the best way is to make 1 partition and do a clean install (without XP) on my PC.

Steps to take using EasyBCD 1.7 ( by Computer Guru )

Grab yourself a copy of EasyBCD 1.7.
Install
Run
EasyBCD | Add/Remove | Windows XP | Add Entry

Reboot, viola! all done!

Steps to take using Vista DVD ( by William Wilson )

Restart your computer with either Vista CD 1 or your Vista DVD in the drive, if you don’t you will be prompted to pick an operating system. Once into setup, choose repair console from the first screen (not install).

Now the last option is for a DOS prompt, pick that.

A DOS prompt appears, and type the following:
bootrec.exe /fixmbr
*this will essentially remove XP from the Vista bootloader

bootrec.exe /fixboot
*this will check that XP is no longer present in Vista’s boot.ini
Restart and XP is history.

21 Responses

  1. hi

    i have dualboot xp & vista (xp was installed first)

    xp is installed on C:/, vista is on a partition of it ,H: (i also have another partition called D:)

    due lack of space of the partition on vista (about 20 GB) i tried to move space from C: and D: to vista but i cant do this

    (in vista i cant resize/format/.. C: or D:, in xp i cant do anything with H:vista partition)

    so i wanna delete xp, gonna try the easy method with EasyBCD 1.7 🙂

    i will install this on vista, then follow the steps to delete xp (EasyBCD | Add/Remove | Windows XP | Add Entry) and then only vista will start-up immediately? Or not? And after that I will be able to delete everything/format the C: disk and use it for my vista partition? Because right now i cant format C: or D: within vista?

    dont wanna end up with your next post:
    “NTLDR is missing, press any key to restart” :^)

    Thx in advance

    Not problem Matt! Good luck with removing XP!

  2. Wow, EasyBCD sure does make it easy!

    I think you should stick it as number one and recommended, it’s so much simpler and safer.. Thanks for that link, you’re my hero for the week!

    I’m just glad the info works for you, Marcus. I’m just a regular tech support guy trying to share my knowledge with other users.

  3. Thanks for the great tip, I used the Vista DVD option with no problems.
    Kevin

  4. hi,

    i tried doing the Vista DVD option, but it dint work out…
    i tried the EasyBCD thing, and i was able to log into Vista directly… thanks for that!

    But was i cant do is that, i still cant format the D: drive where i have installed XP (which was installed before i installed Vista).

    It wud be great if u cud help me in formatting the drive where XP is installed.

    Thanks in advance, Jacob!

  5. YAA Adding this to my bookmarks. Thank You

  6. I used BCD and was able to remove XP from Vista Boot manager. But now i’, unable to format the drive in which Xp was installed… any suggestions?

  7. please … I have a machine with dual boot ( XP – win7 ) but xp does not work and I tried to repair it but the installation cd does not give me repair option – how can I re-install XP without touching win7 and keep dual boot ?

    THANKS

  8. Hi!!

    I understand all the methods that you have mentioned to the OS. And Thank you for sharing this information.

    what, if i don’t have Vista Installation disk? i only have recovery disk that doesn’t give any option to get in dos/console.

    is there any secret door to get in there. or does it possible to fix it within the OS cmd?

    email: deepclean911@yahoo.com

  9. found your site online.

    nice options. usually i use the command prompt which will appear when i load Vista DVD.

    I am more used to the primitive method

  10. What a gem! I found this on Yahoo poking around for something completely unrelated, now I’m going to need to go back and go through all the archives 🙂 So much for my free time this morning, but this was a really spectacular find!

  11. thanks! very intresting information.
    visit my blog http://malwareremoval.wordpress.com/

  12. thanks for the tip, helpful..

  13. I am using the same thing here, thanks for more info!

  14. Thanks for this guide. I was looking for this for a long time.

  15. Nice Article…….

    I needed this guide urgently and found this wonderful article.

  16. great tips. thanks before 😀

  17. It’s going to be end of mine day, except before end I am
    reading this impressive post to increase my knowledge. http://Pincorpblog.tripod.com

  18. It also explains some information in thi type of business that is not known to the regular businessmen. The article relates to the proxy
    servver applications about the Android phone-sets.
    Multiple License-based usagge options are also
    available.

  19. […] Uninstall XP from dual boot with Vista machine … – Sep 27, 2007 · hi. i have dualboot xp & vista (xp was installed first) xp is installed on C:/, vista is on a partition of it ,H: (i also have another partition called D:)… […]

  20. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to say that I get in fact loved account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing in your augment and even I fulfillment you access persistently fast.

Leave a Reply

